<u>Leccion 4 Tarea -- Termine antes pasar a la Leccion 5!</u>

Examen de Educacion Civica 2008

Practica de la escritura

1.	The President is elected every four years.
2.	The President lives in the White House.
3.	They want to vote.
4.	The senators from Iowa are Chuck Grassley and Joni Ernst.
5.	Congress meets in Washington, D.C.

<u>Leccion 4 Tarea -- Termine antes pasar a la Leccion 5!</u>

Examen de Educacion Civica 2008

6.	Our government is divided into three branches.
7.	A senator is elected for six years.
8.	The Governor of Iowa is Kim Reynolds.

Leccion 4 Tarea -- Termine antes pasar a la Leccion 5!

Examen de Educacion Civica 2008

<u>Practica de leer - Executive</u> Branch

The Executive Branch

The government of the United States of America is divided into three branches. The branches are executive, legislative, and judicial. The executive branch includes the President of the United States, the



Vice President, and the Cabinet, as well as the many government employees in various agencies.

The President

The President has several powers that only belong to that office. The President signs or veto laws that are written and passed by Congress. Because of the checks and balances system a Presidential veto may be overturned with a two-thirds majority in both the House and Senate. When there is a vacancy in the Supreme Court, the President nominates a new person for approval by the Senate. The President is also the Commander-in-Chief of the military.

The Vice President

The Vice President has limited powers. He can vote in the Senate, but only to break ties. The Vice President is a member of the President's Cabinet, a group that advises the President. If the President is not able to continue in office, the Vice President would become President.

The Cabinet

The Cabinet is selected by the President, with the consent of the Senate. When a new president is elected, a new cabinet is appointed. Cabinet members lead major government departments and advise the President regarding issues related to their department. Cabinet positions include Secretary of Education, Agriculture, Defense, Education, and Transportation.

Leccion 4 Tarea -- Termine antes pasar a la Leccion 5!

Examen de Educacion Civica 2008

Practice de leer - Iowa

Location

Iowa is a state in the middle area of the United States; the region is called "the Midwest." Iowa is bordered by the Mississippi River to the east and the Missouri River to the west. It is bordered by six states; Wisconsin to the northeast, Illinois to the east, Missouri to the south, Nebraska to the west,

North
Dakota

Minnesota

South
Dakota

Iowa

Illinois

Kansas

Missouri

South Dakota to the northwest and Minnesota to the north.

History

The first Europeans to explore Iowa were Jacques Marquette and Louis Jolliet who

traveled the Mississippi River in 1673. The area of Iowa was claimed for France and remained a French territory until 1763. In 1803 the United States government purchased a large amount of land from France. The transaction is known as the Louisiana Purchase. Iowa was part of the Louisiana Purchase.



Because of this history Iowa's state flag is patterned after the flag of France. On December 28, 1846, Iowa became the 29th state

Government

The capital and largest city in Iowa is Des Moines. The governor leads the executive branch of the Iowa; her name is Kim Reynolds. The legislative branch is called the Iowa General Assembly. It is made up of a House of Representatives and a Senate. Iowa also has a judicial branch;



the Supreme Court of Iowa is the highest court in Iowa.

Iowa has 99 counties. Each county has a county seat with a courthouse. Columbus Junction is located in Louisa County. The county seat of Louisa County is Wapello.